PDP wins all 15 chairmanship seats in Kwara

The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) candidates have won all the 15 chairmanship seats and 181 councillorship seats in Kwara in the October 26 local government election held in the state.

The Chairman of the state Independent Electoral Commission, Dr Uthman Ajidagba, announced the result at the commission’s headquarters on Sunday in Ilorin.

According to Ajidagba, the PDP chairmanship candidate in Asa Local Government Council, Malam Saka Obalana, polled 43,748 votes, while his counterpart in Baruten Local Government, Mohammed Bio, scored 76,478 votes.

Alhaji Abubakar Tshonga of Edu Local Government scored 61,291 votes, while his counterpart in Ekiti Local Government Council, Akintoba Fatigun, got 23,888 votes.

The PDP candidate for Ifelodun Local Government, Babatunde Salami, scored 74,299 votes, and his counterpart in Ilorin East Local Council, Abdullateef Okandeji, polled 89,416 votes.

Usman Ebedi, the PDP candidate for IIorin South scored 63,267 votes, while his counterpart in IIorin West , Tajudeen Zulu-Oloje, polled 129,885 votes.

The party’s candidate in Irepodun Local Government, Lukman Owolewa, scored 41,187 votes, and the candidate for Isin Local Government, Moruf Thanni, got 21,144 votes.

The flagbearer for Kaima Local Goverment, Alhassan Bagudu, scored 43,747 votes, while Abdulganiyu Ajibola of Moro Local Goverrnment polled 46,493 votes.

The PDP candidate in Oke-Ero Local Government Council, Aminat Yusuf, got 23,957 votes, while her counterpart in Oyun Local Government, Jimoh Alao, scored 34,783 votes and  Uthman Mohammed of Patigi Local Government polled 36,294 votes.

Ajidagba did not disclose the scores of the 181 councillorship candidates of the party in the election.

He thanked traditional rulers, the media and the people of the state for their support toward the successful conduct of the poll.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the Labour Party (LP) and the Social Democratic Party (SDP) which also participated in the election, did not score any vote in the election.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s